Cabot Cheddar Contains 0g of Lactose Per Serving

It’s important to know that lactose is simply the natural sugar found in milk. To understand how cheese becomes lactose-free, first look to the cheesemaking process. To begin, curd is separated from whey (whey is where most of the lactose is). The curd eventually becomes cheese, and the whey is removed (along with it goes most of the lactose). The small amount of lactose that remains in the curd breaks down over time as the cheese ages, resulting in an aged low-lactose cheese or lactose-free cheese. So, cheeses that undergo this natural aging process — like cheddar — contain little to no lactose. So go ahead and enjoy Cabot Cheese, as it is naturally lactose-free!

No Sugar Means No Lactose

If it says 0g, that means there’s no sugar – and no sugar in Cabot cheddar means it’s lactose-free cheese. Learn more about our lactose-free cheeses now!

No Lactose? No Problem!

We have so many deliciously cheesy Lactose-free recipes for you to enjoy.

The Health Benefits of Dairy

Dairy foods provide important nutrients such as calcium, protein, riboflavin and phosphorus. Eating 3 servings of dairy foods everyday is a great way to get calcium in your diet.

Lactose-Free Recipes