You Can Eat This Cheese If You’re Lactose-Free
Cabot Cheddar: it’s a naturally lactose-free cheese!
Lactose is a natural sugar found in milk and dairy products that some folks have trouble digesting. If you’re lactose intolerant, have a lactose-sensitivity, or you cook or shop for someone else that does, you might be surprised to know that our natural aging process actually removes the lactose from Cabot Cheddar.
Try one of our delicious lactose-free dinner recipes tonight!
Most of the lactose present in milk is in the whey, which is then separated from the curds during the cheesemaking process. The natural aging process then breaks down any remaining lactose that could be leftover. Translation: you get to enjoy lactose-free Cabot Cheddars from a number of our collections! (Yep, we’re psyched about this fact too!)
Check out the classics like Vermont Sharp, our flavored options like Habanero, and our Legacy line with cheddars like the Farmhouse Reserve.
Even better news for you? Other styles of aged cheese, like parmesan are also lactose-free. (Note: aging is the key.)
Click here to get our lactose-free recipes.
The easiest way to check if a cheese is lactose-free is to read the Nutrition Facts panel. That’s where you can find just how much sugar is in the cheese. If there is no sugar—read, zero grams or “0g”—on the label, there is no lactose in that cheese. And you’ll only find zero grams of sugar, across the board, on Cabot Cheddars. Now, time to rest easy and break out that two-pound block of Cabot Cheddar.
Check out some of our favorite Lactose-Free Recipes:
Beet & Orange Salad with Cheddar
Cheesy Cauliflower Tots
Black Bean Veggie Burgers
Mini Patty Melts with Caramelized Onion Confit